I Am Black, Strong And Proud!

I am Black, strong and proud!
I can never say it too loud!

I am not humble, nor am I meek.
I am not lazy, nor am I weak.

I am comfortable in my own skin.
I will fight each battle and I shall win.

I am from slaves and I am free.
I am my mother, my father. I am me.

I stand before you with head held high.
I will not bend in the wind nor sigh.

I choose my path and I take the lead.
I know I am human and therefore, I bleed.

I ask my family to take my hand.
I will pull you up and over coarse land.

I promise to stand by you forever.
I take you with me, we go together.

I love you my brother, my sister. My heart.
I am like you, a work of art.

I am Black, strong and proud!
I can never say it too loud!

 

Written by,

Shelby I. Courtland

©2013 Shelby I. Courtland

 

One thought on “I Am Black, Strong And Proud!

Leave a Reply

