A Reflection On My Complexion

I was born with a permanent tan.
And if I do the best I can,
I still get called a name.
Why must I take the blame?

I had no say when I was born.
So I don’t understand your scorn.
Why hate me for my complexion?
This could have been your reflection.

I will not let you break me down,
solely because my skin is brown.
Even if I’m solid Black,
there’s not one human trait I lack.

Throw caution to the wind.
Reach out, you’d find a friend.
I bleed the same as you.
And smile when you do too.

We’re all just one big race,
trying hard to find our place.
In the grander scheme of things,
strive for love and what it brings.

Written by,

Shelby I. Courtland

©2013 Shelby I. Courtland

 

4 thoughts on “A Reflection On My Complexion

  1. the reflection of the heart is where we should all be looking. the inner person is where the greatest beauty can be found. people who choose to remain blinded by prejudice and bigotry have no idea what they’ve been missing by never allowing themselves to accept others who are different from them.

    Like

  2. Brian, voted up! Oops! Not on the ‘vine’ anymore! But what the heck, if I could I’d vote your post up a gazillion times, my friend. Yes, we should all look beyond the outer shell..unfortunately..many don’t.

    On another note, I went to your blog and read some of your work. I absolutely loved it. I wish you could get more notice because you have truly great work!!
    Is there a way for me to comment? Or at least give something a ‘thumbs up’ on there?

    Like

Leave a Reply

