The Heart

cupid

Oh, how complicated is the heart.
I don’t know where to start.

One day, we’re single and carefree.
Then we’re in love, both you and me.

I didn’t see it coming. No, I never did
open Pandora’s box. I never touched the lid.

Who’d dare play with fire, only end up getting burned.
And those who dare to live and they in time are spurned.

Cupid laughs at us. We’re at the mercy of his bow.
When he shoots his arrow, my advice is duck real low.

But if by chance, Cupid’s arrow does finds its mark.
Then go with the flow and enjoy that brand new spark.

Written by,

Shelby I. Courtland

3 thoughts on “The Heart

  1. Posted as a prelude to Valentine’s Day! All you lovers out there start preparing to dazzle him/her with a real, deep and meaningful show of love. Be creative. A generic box of chocolates is SO last century. Show them that ‘Cupid’ really did not miss the mark.

    Like

  2. you mention pandoras box. oh the evil that flew out bringing much sadness and disease into the world. but wait! the lid had been slammed shut but along with all that had escaped, there was one more let free unto the world that i never knew of till recently. it was HOPE.

    Like

    • Yes, Brian…we dare to hope!! If we have nothing left to cling to, we must cling to ‘hope’ because it ‘springs eternal’. I can only ‘hope’ for a brighter day, a more loving and caring world of people. I can hope and it is one thing that we must not lose. This could also apply to those who are longing for a lover. Never lose hope that that earth shattering love is just right around the corner. Yes, ‘hope springs eternal’.

      Thank you for commenting.
      P.S. I’ve been back on your blog. Can’t stay off of it. I love it all!!!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

