‘Life Is A Battlefield’

Sometimes life throws us such a curve.
We cannot outrun it, nor can we swerve.
Hits we must take and yet, dare to stand.
Life is vitality and dreams are never bland.

Ride life like the wind and when the dust settles,
chaos still reigns, there are just so many battles.
We fight our way through life, we have no choice.
Seek peace and harmony, but always give voice.

In this battle of life, there’ll be many a foe.
There’ll be memories of glory and tales of woe.
Life is not a game that is meant to be played.
Life is often rocky, the way not paved.

Never look back, the past we cannot change.
Accept not defeat when victory is within range.
Failure is not an option. We must endure.
With our eye on the prize, there is no detour.

We are wounded warriors as our battle scars do tell.
At times, we suffer greatly and wonder will we fail.
Have faith, strength will find us as life will never end.
There’ll be a new beginning. Another battle to transcend.

Written by,

Shelby I. Courtland

2 thoughts on “‘Life Is A Battlefield’

  1. kinda reminds me of something i’ve written in the past. rolling with the punch that life delivers from time to time can be tough. if we let it stop us from moving forward we fail. if we pick ourselves up and continue we gain strength and learn lifes lesson. although we don’t always know why, there is always a reason for the lesson.

    Like

    • Brian, so true! I have been blazing trails from here to there since I was 15. I cannot say that I was fearless and some would say that I was naive, but it didn’t stop me from going where I had never gone before and fighting the battle to not just survive, but to actually thrive. Many have stated that my ‘guardian Angel’ got my back because for some strange reason, things have always just fallen into place. I’ve always stated that I just stumble my way through life, but whatever anyone will call it, I am so very glad that I am not afraid to take life on and not just get stuck in a comfort zone and refuse to see what is around the next curve in the road. I am always glad that I had the audacity to look.

      Thank you for your comment!

      Like

Leave a Reply

