In Loving Memory….

She was my baby sister and we buried her today.
I am at a loss for words, I don’t know what to say.
Strong cords of love for her still tug at my heart.
I thought I held her hand, but death pulled us apart.

She was so young and full of life, I can’t believe she’s gone.
I must face another day. No sun will greet the dawn.
A lovely smile she had, a laugh like tinkling bells.
When she would get to cooking, oh what luscious smells.

Her talents knew no end, the saxophone she’d play.
The sound is now an echo, the melody drifts away.
Oh God, I want her back. Please, just hear my plea!
Since I am the eldest, why did you not take me?

My mother’s spirits broken, she’s lost her baby girl.
Worth more than a jewel, more perfect than a pearl.
They say that it gets better as each new day goes by.
One day I will awaken and I shall cease to cry.

Vivid recollections of childhood memories.
We were always sisters and never enemies.
My eyes are filled with tears and words are left unsaid.
The future yawns before me, contemplated with such dread.

Written by,

Shelby I. Courtland

My sister was found dead in her apartment and we don’t know why or how she died. All I do know is that it seems as though a part of me is gone! Oh, the pain, the anger, the helplessness! And it always goes back to the WHY???!!!!!

8 thoughts on “In Loving Memory….

  1. so sorry to here of the loss of your sister. i wish that there was something i could say to make it better and fill a hole that has opened in your heart. for now all i can give are (((((shelby))))).

    Like

  2. Oh John! I am so sorry about your brothers. Unfortunately, we’ve all lost loved ones. My father’s death in 2001 tore me all to pieces. I am not saying that I care no less for aunts and uncles, but it just seems to be so much harder to get through when it involves the death of someone you shared a home with, grew up with and was a part of your immediate family. It just seems that way to me.

    Like

  3. There is no one in the world like a sister. It’s a unique alliance that does not include parents, spouses or children. I am so sorry for your loss.

    Like

    • JoAnn, thank you so very much. Yes, you are SO right!! There is nothing like it. I could talk to my sister about any and everything, not like you can with anyone else! I miss her SOO very much!!

      Again, I thank you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

