Persecuted to Death!

malcolm x

Persecuted to death? Indeed we are! Each and every single day because of the color of our skin.

Persecuted to Death!

Why am I in this place?
They hate me for my race!

I can’t walk the streets at night.
My skin gives them a fright.

They’ve the right to shoot me dead.
With bullets made of lead.

I’m a suspect every day.
If they kill me, it’s okay.

No one will do the time.
I’m guilty of the crime.

My crime is that I’m Black.
It’s why I get shot at.

I don’t have to do a thing.
They used to watch me swing.

Now, a gun is what they use.
I’ve got one life to lose.

They’ll shoot me and shoot him.
It’s all the same to them.

How many left to go?
‘Til a tag is on the toe!

Yes, I was born right here, but I’m a refugee.
Persecuted years ago and hung up on a tree.

If you’re Black, there is no justice and never will there be.
Not a place where I’m not guilty, not a place where I am free.

Written by,

Shelby I. Courtland
© 2013 Shelby I. Courtland

Leave a Reply

