“Oh Child of Mine!”

trayvon-martin-grad

Oh child of mine, what have they done?
My baby was killed, you murdered my son.

With a broken heart, I search for answers.
There are none, just lots of questions.

How can it be right to gun down my child?
Then sit and grin and laugh all the while.
Throwing what you’ve done back in my face.
Letting me know what you think of my race.

Others are in prison for doing much less.
You murdered my child, I heard you confess.

You’re free as a bird and my baby is dead.
We only have your version of all that was said.
You could lie to our face and not be bothered a bit.
No worries you had, you knew they’d acquit.

Justice was served? How and when?
To murder, I thought, was the ultimate sin.
So, you’ll get your gun back and do it again.
Stand your ground, let the killing begin.

There are those in prison, who are on death row.
For doing the same, but they let you go.
Why are you different? Why are you immune?
The son of a judge won’t dance to that tune.
No death row you’ll see, no that’s not for you.
No bars, no steel cage, not a courtyard view.
How special you are, the privileged few.

You’re the spawn of a judge and racist to the core,
who can gun down a child and go looking for more.

zimmerman

Written by,

Shelby I. Courtland
© 2013 Shelby I. Courtland

I wrote the above poem because Trayvon Martin could have been ‘a child of mine’. I have a son who is just a little older than Trayvon would have been, had he not been murdered and words cannot express how I feel because as much as I love my son, will always love my son, I thought that I could not love him more, but I do and I am more fearful than ever for his safety and wish he was just a babe in my arms and would always remain so because then I would know that he is safe. He understands why I worry. He has experienced racism and a more peace loving man, you could not find. I refuse to accept the ‘open season on young Black men’ as a done deal. I refuse to accept that white men are not content with hunting deer, but are now passing laws to make it legal to go on the hunt for our children, to gun them down and walk away. Another notch on their gun. Another trophy. It is not enough that the ‘grand old racist white man’s club’ has disproportionately incarcerated young Black men to the point where they’ve basically brought back slavery in the form of the Prison Industrial Complex, they are now trying to murder the ones they’ve not incarcerated. I will fight back with every fiber of my being because no parent should have to go through what Trayvon Martin’s parents are going through, the senseless murder of their child, watching his murderer walk away, a free man. To anyone who has been asleep for the last several decades, if this is not a wake-up call, then you tell me what it is!

2 thoughts on ““Oh Child of Mine!”

    • Thank you! And even now, my heart is torn asunder over the fact that an innocent child is dead and his killer walked away(and has another gun to do it all over again)! Unbelievable, just unbelievable! Although, we are in AmeriKKKa, and that says it all!

      Like

Leave a Reply

