No Truth Will Set Me Free

truth1

I told what I should not and went against the grain.
The truth I did expose. What would I stand to gain?

A loser I am called with no fortune and no fame.
I wish that I could hide my deep, abiding shame.

Cloak me from the prying eyes to hide my misery.
Why I so desire the dark, can be no mystery.

Each test, yes I did fail; there is punishment in store.
They’ll hold me in contempt and shun me evermore.

I melt into the shadows, become one with the night.
There is safety incognito, not found in morning light.

What waits for me down yonder road?
I broke no moral code.

I thought the truth would set me free.
Why is that not to be?

The laws of God and man are not so well defined.
When a man can do what’s right and still get left behind.

There! On the horizon. Behold, what do I see?
Endless nights of pacing in a prison built for me.

Written by,

Shelby I. Courtland
© 2013 Shelby I. Courtland

11 thoughts on “No Truth Will Set Me Free

    • Thank you tubular! I just wish that I did not feel compelled to write it but unfortunately, we’re not in the land of spread the truth and it will set you free. Instead, you tell the truth, expose the lies and deceits and get jailed for your efforts. This young man, Bradley Manning should not be imprisoned for the rest of his life for doing what his conscience dictated he do. Sad times we’re in, sad times indeed.

      Bless your heart and thank you for stopping by!

      Like

  1. Hello – just found your blog through Jeff’s latest post.
    You are a stunning poetic talent and your poems resonate with me so deeply. Sublime blog – I will be following 🙂

    Like

    • I am SOOO blushing from the compliments!! Thank you ever so much! I cannot tell you just how much your words mean to me!! I am following you as well! You have got it going on!! I thank you again!!!

      Like

      • Shelby, I thank You! And I do mean every single word – it is a true blessing to read your poetry: a unique combination with so deep humanity through such a powerful expression!

        I am so honoured and glad to read your kind replies – thank you so much for visiting, for following back and for the Likes. 🙂

        Like

  2. Update: Pfc. Bradley Manning has been acquitted of aiding the enemy, however, he could still face up to life in prison on the other charges. He will also be ‘dishonorably’ discharged. What I would like to know is since his ’employers’ are dishonorable, how could he be anything but ‘dishonorably’ discharged? The ‘honor’ should be all his. It is my opinion that he should be released based on time and torture served!

    Like

    • You know Shelby, if what you would like to see actually occurred it would require an entire new appraisal of the military justice system.
      Wouldn’t THAT be grand. However, I don’t have that much faith in that happening. It would be wonderful if I were wrong.

      Like

      • Unfortunately tubular, I don’t think that you are wrong about much, but it would be a pleasant surprise if you were. I know that if I was the judge sentencing Bradley Manning, he would be a ‘free’ man today, if it was in my power to make it so. This young man has suffered enough, especially for merely exposing the truth.

        Like

  3. Tubular, and so it is. But please be wrong with regards to what the military will now do to Bradley Manning. Alas, he has suffered enough for exposing the truth. The MSM may not have covered this trial, but Bradley Manning has had plenty of supporters. I know that probably does not mean much to him, going through what he is going through, but I certainly hope that he knows that not all of us are against him for what he did. It was the morally right thing to do. Unfortunately, those with any sort of morals are sadly lacking in the U.S. government and military!

    Like

Leave a Reply

