A 35 Year Sentence Took Me From ‘Brazen’ To Religion

bible

Bradley Manning’s sentence: 35 years for exposing us to the truth

This was never a fair trial – Obama declared Manning’s guilt in advance.
source:http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2013/aug/21/bradley-manning-sentence-birgitta-jonsdottir

How could Bradley Manning have ever stood a chance? His Commander-in-Chief is a lying hypocrite. The judge who sentenced Manning was also an employee of the Commander-in-Chief, so was there ever really any reason to hold this mockery of a trial in the first place? Manning was guilty before the verdict was even handed down. His crime? He exposed the truth. He exposed cover-ups and lies. He exposed torture and crimes that would make the devil blush. So I ask, where were all the Christian supporters of Bradley Manning? After all, does not the Bible state:

King James Version: Proverbs:11:9 An hypocrite with [his] mouth destroyeth his neighbour: but through knowledge shall the just be delivered.

Christians, did you get that? Obama is the hypocrite. He ordered the killing of innocent people in Iraq and Afghanistan, Yemen and Pakistan. Obama ‘destroyeth’ his neighbors, his INNOCENT neighbors and Bradley Manning exposed Obama for the hypocrite that he is and yet, the hypocrite destroyeth his neighbor again by incarcerating him for 35 years for telling the truth. Why are you not up-in-arms over this? What is happening to Bradley Manning goes against practically every verse in ANY bible. The ‘just’ is not being ‘delivered’. The ‘just’ received 35 years for exposing the ‘unjust’. You’re not convinced yet? Okay!

King James Version: James:3:17 But the wisdom that is from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, [and] easy to be intreated, full of mercy and good fruits, without partiality, and without hypocrisy.

Let’s make an analogy here. Obama is the wisdom from above because he was Bradley Manning’s boss, so in essence, if we apply James3:17 to Obama and Manning, wouldn’t it have been on Obama to eschew the sanctioning of mass killings of civilians and to not throw the book at the one who exposed it? Is this not Obama’s hypocrisy? Is this not Bradley Manning’s pure, peaceable and gentle moment? So, why are you then in collusion with the hypocrite?

King James Version: Psalm:55:21 [The words] of his mouth were smoother than butter, but war [was] in his heart: his words were softer than oil, yet [were] they drawn swords.

Christians, can you apply this to Bradley Manning? No, I didn’t think so. Psalm:55:21 has Obama written all over it because he is a lying, murdering, depraved hypocrite who is without a glimmer of a conscience. Still not convinced?

I Timothy 4:2, “Speaking lies in hypocrisy; having their conscience seared with a hot iron.”

Again, the above verse speaks directly to the Obama Administration and the attempts to cover-up war crimes. To continue to tell lies, to continue to wallow in hypocrisy leads to a conscienceless state, thereby, having no qualms in condemning a man to 35 years in prison for standing up and doing what the Christian’s God states in the Bible is what he should have done. As I’ve stated before, the laws of God and man are not so easily defined when a man can speak the truth against the hypocrite and be punished. Christians, where is your outrage? What crime against God did Bradley Manning commit? What moral code did he break? Why should exposing the truth be criminalized simply because it interferes with the immoral crimes of a despot? Make no mistake, there will be others like Bradley Manning who will witness unspeakable crimes committed in our name and they will be silenced by whatever means necessary because the hypocrite is not shackled by a mere conscience. Are you a hypocrite or are you a Bradley Manning? It is not enough to merely go to church, sing your hymns, pay your tithes and exit your house of worship thinking that you have accomplished something. If you believe that you will be judged by your deeds, then exactly what have you done that warrants you a place in heaven? Did you speak up against tyranny and oppression? Did you watch the criminalization of an exposer of the truth and do nothing? Being a Christian is not to remain silent when God’s commandment of “Do Not Kill,” is tossed aside, because that is exactly what Obama is guilty of, killing. He has the blood of innocents on his hands, the same as George W. Bush, Dick Cheney and crew. By your deafening silence, you are a willing accomplice to a liar and a hypocrite and you condone torture and killing and as such, you are displaying a singular lack of ethics, morality and Christian behavior.

12 thoughts on “A 35 Year Sentence Took Me From ‘Brazen’ To Religion

    • Why thank you Tubular! In my opinion, this is a travesty. People are actually expecting Obama to pardon Bradley Manning when we ALL know that that is the last thing Obama would do. He cannot get his hands on Edward Snowden, so Manning will just have to do. Manning can expect no ‘quarter’ there!

      Like

  1. All of this is quite funny when you consider the US position on this kind of thing following WWII. At Nuremberg it was said:

    “Individuals have international duties which transcend the national obligations of obedience. Therefore individual citizens have the duty to violate domestic laws to prevent crimes against peace and humanity from occurring.”

    I guess that only applies to countries that are not called the US…

    I will say that having served myself, he did go against the UCMJ and is getting a fair shake as far as that’s concerned. At least he’s not being hung for treason. Don’t misunderstand my position on this, however. I do agree that these things should come to light. If the government is doing things they are not supposed to be doing, the American people have a right to know about it. But as a military man, you cannot do a thing like this and not expect punishment.

    Consider what MLK, Jr said:

    “Never, never be afraid to do what’s right, especially if the well-being of a person or animal is at stake. Society’s punishments are small compared to the wounds we inflict on our soul when we look the other way.”

    Manning knew the risks of what he was doing. I’m not saying we shouldn’t fight for his early release, or whatever, but he knew the risks and did what he did anyway.

    Hope this makes sense, I haven’t been awake that long…lol

    Like

    • Peter, first I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for stopping by. Second, I would like to state that yes, I understand that you are also speaking from a view point of having served in the military. However, my point is that Bradley Manning has been incarcerated since 2010. Not to forget that even the judge admitted that Bradley Manning had been subjected to torture. There were soldiers who were tried and found innocent of killing innocent civilians, so why then is that not a punishable offense, but exposing the truth is? The military personnel that tortured those innocent people in Abu Ghraib prison did not receive as stiff a sentence as Bradley Manning did. The sentencing of Bradley Manning is sending a clear message that the U.S. government condones atrocities, is lenient with those who commit them, but if you expose the lies, the torture, the depravities, the hypocritical position that the U.S. government has placed itself in, then take a look at Bradley Manning’s sentence and think twice before the morality of your conscience dictates that you expose for all the world to see, our criminal acts.

      Total of all 12 sentences for crimes related to Abu Ghraib torture: 25 1/2 yrs. Total served: < 14 yrs. Manning: 35 yrs.
      source:http://inagist.com/all/370360576985559040/

      Bradley Manning has more than served his time for what he did. You are of course, free to disagree and on that we will agree to disagree. Bradley Manning is not the Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. What Dr. King would have done or said about what Manning did is irrelevant at this point, since he peacefully tried to right many wrongs only to have his government spy on him, jail him, hose him down, let dogs loose on him and now they are passing laws that have basically tossed aside much of what Dr. King marched for. I don't know and you don't know, but my guess is that even Dr. King may have changed his stance due to the viciousness of the shit that is going on today, if he were alive today and hadn't been assassinated.

      And again, I thank you for taking the time to post on my blog. Have a nice day!

      Like

      • I think you misunderstand my position, I’m right there with you. I just wanted to share my feelings on the issue from a military stand point. I understand why he did what he did, but I also understand why the military took the actions they did. I’m not condoning his treatment, or sentence what-so ever. No one deserves to be tortured and subject to jail times that historically have been far more lenient. And I only pointed out that MLK quote to illustrate the fact that I commend Manning for “not looking the other way”. Obviously what he is doing is far different from the civil rights movement.

        Like

    • Peter, I have already accepted the fact that the military had to do something about Bradley Manning exposing the truth and they did. As I’ve already pointed out, he has been in prison since 2010 and has been tortured, probably still is for all we know. So, what part of ‘he has not been spared’ do you not understand?

      People of my complexion have been subjected to quite a lot of shit since our ancestors were dragged over here, so when I hear of atrocities that the U.S. government not only condones, but encourages, I tend to get mad as hell! I don’t give a goddamn about the U.S. government. I don’t give a goddamn about those in the armed forces. I understand that there is no draft and that they chose to sign up, but if someone after signing up, witnesses outrageous and horrendous crimes perpetrated on innocent people by this government’s military, then they should speak the hell up and it should not be seen as some crime against the government. It should be investigated and measures taken to ensure that that shit will not go unchecked. The clear message should be that those types of heinous crimes will NOT be tolerated, not the opposite. Cover our shit up and if you don’t we will prosecute you and make an example out of you. That is wrong and that is what I have a problem with.

      Like

      • I’m still not disagreeing with you, so I’m not sure why you say “So, what part of ‘he has not been spared’ do you not understand?” Obviously he hasn’t. I understand your anger and I share it.

        You’re right, though. While it is somewhat of an honor for most of us to serve in uniform, we do have a duty to speak out against any and all atrocities we are privy to, consequences be dammed. I’d like to think that had I been in Manning’s position, that I’d have done something…anything to get the word out that the government was engaging in behavior that runs contrary to anything that could be considered ethical. While I do understand “war is hell”, the other people fighting are, in fact, people, too and should be treated as such.

        I took an oath to support and defend the Constitution, not the government, from enemies foreign AND domestic. If that domestic enemy is my own government, I have a duty and responsibility to protect myself and others from it. Again, I’m not against Manning, not in the least and I’m not even arguing against your position. There needs to be more people like you speaking out against the things the government is getting wrong. Dead wrong in most cases.

        Like

  2. Oh, and one more thing. Martin Luther (not King, Jr) wrote a good treatise on the subject of God’s law and man’s law. It’s called On Secular Authority if you’re interested in his perspective. I got it for 99 cents on my Kindle at Amazon, or they have a paperback version coupled with Calvin’s ideas. I’ll go away now!

    Like

  3. Well, I can honestly say that it would not be an ‘honor for me to serve’. I would refuse to serve a country that has given me the dubious distinction of being three fifths human. I would refuse to serve a country that since slavery for all intents and purposes was abolished, has been re-instated in the form of the Prison Industrial Complex. I would refuse to serve a country that legislated Jim Crow, separate but equal and Jim Crow remains in effect today what with inner cities filled with poor, struggling Black people and when whites decide that they want shorter commutes, gentrification ensues. I would refuse to serve a country that is hell bent on stripping away the laws that finally gave me the right to vote as a goddamn citizen of this fucked up country without having to pay poll taxes and take literacy tests, knowing that these were impediments to our voting. We may not see the ‘white only’ and the ‘colored only’ signs, but they are there all the same. Education in inner cities is a sham and this is done on purpose because a jail cell is waiting since without a good education, there will be no job available, hence the turning to criminal behavior and then incarceration. I would refuse to serve this country for a myriad of reasons and all of them have merit.

    Thank you for your stating that, “there needs to be more people like you speaking out against the things the government is getting wrong.”

    What is really needed is for there to be no ‘reason’ for people like me to have to speak ‘out against the things the government is getting wrong, dead wrong in most cases’. However, I will certainly not hold my breath waiting for that to happen.

    And I sincerely and really do appreciate your comments, though it may seem as if I don’t. Quite often, the written word can come across more harshly than the spoken word simply because there is no body language or facial expressions to observe.

    Like

    • It’s all good. It did seem a little harsh, and I was hoping I was just misinterpreting…lol You’re are absolutely right when you say there shouldn’t be any reason to speak out. It constantly amazes me how we as humans have the ability to use reason and logic to figure things out, we more often than not get them wrong in every possible way. And being a white male, I have no idea what it’s like to be anything else, but I will stand beside people like you in this fight because real equality matters…thanks Shelby, keep up the good fight!

      Like

      • Thank you! I do not condemn you as the enemy since there were many whites who stood and marched and protested against the inhumane treatment and laws designed specifically to disenfranchise people of my complexion. Unfortunately, the battle rages on!!

        Bless you Peter!

        Like

Leave a Reply

