Must We Kneel Before The Emperor?

kneel before me!

 

Must we kneel before the Emperor and beg for just one crumb?

And lie prostrate on the floor as he pretends to be struck dumb.

 

His consort just looks on and we know she does not care,

that another child is hungry; with a cupboard that is bare.

 

The lords who hold the purse strings are stingy in their ways.

The empire will shut down for who knows how many days.

 

They spent us into debt and the people here can starve.

There’ll be no food to cook and no meat for them to carve.

 

Though some don’t feel the pain, there is still left-over stew,

but when their pot is empty, tell me; will they get a clue?

 

We may be down, but are we out? What more is there to give?

On hope the people cling and that’s just no way to live.

 

Why should we have to kneel or beg one lazy lord?

Only money speaks to them; but it’s our money that they hoard.

 

Written by,

Shelby I. Courtland

© 2013 Shelby I. Courtland

 

 

5 thoughts on “Must We Kneel Before The Emperor?

  1. Shelby, well done as usual! Tubularsock declares that you are the Muhammad Ali poet of the web. Because your poems ” . . . float like a butterfly, sting like a bee . . .” Congratulation. You knock me out!

    Like

    • Thank you Tubular! I just hope that I do not eventually go the route of Ali since you know what he’s dealing with these days from taking so many punches. I am taking them and, have mercy! I do not want to end up like that!!
      Thank you for your enthusiasm! However, I am getting all hell knocked out of me what with trying to keep a stiff upper lip over all that’s going down these days!
      Take care,
      Shelby

      Like

Leave a Reply

