A World Of Debt

ball-and-chain 2

 

I have turned purple and I have turned blue.

And still, I cannot get through to you.

What more is left for me to say?

Nothing changes from day to day.

 

The time for action will pass us by.

I wring my hands but my eyes are dry.

Face set in stone, teeth are clenched.

Throat muscles tight; nostrils are pinched.

 

For the day of reckoning, I am prepared.

With nothing to lose; why should I be scared?

Our freedoms are gone and justice is dead.

Liberty resides in a padlocked shed.

 

Take my hand; do not let it go.

Together we stand against our foe.

We will not lean and we will not fall.

We have heard the cry; we must heed the call.

 

How did we get so much in debt?

Those who would own us will soon collect.

Do you really want to become their slave?

Whose debt has a banker ever forgave?

 

Written by,

Shelby I. Courtland

© 2013 Shelby I. Courtland

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “A World Of Debt

    • Sky, true story, I was reading your blog late last night or maybe early this morning and afterwards, I turned my computer off and the next thing I know, I am turning it back on because after thinking over your blog post titled:http://familyhurts.wordpress.com/2013/10/03/theres-always-tomorrow-of-the-hunger-games-passing-the-torch-to-a-global-revolution/, the words just started to come and here it is! So, thank you for never giving up. Thank you for your passionate, tireless and heartfelt concern for those of us who live on this planet and who are not of the ‘elite’ as they would stand on our necks without hesitation and you are doing your best to make those who have not yet realized this fact, to recognize and galvanize.

      And so I dedicate this poem to you because your words touched a spark in me and without you, being YOU, this poem would never have come together! Thank you my dear, dear friend Sky!!!!!

      Like

      • Dear Shelby,

        As an admirer of your deep humanity and unsurpassed poetic skills I am just sitting here reading your reply all over again, humbled and speechless.

        Thank you a million times for this unspeakable honour, Shelby.
        Thank you a million times for being such a dear friend, for bringing your unique poetry into this cause, for all your works and for all your invaluable support!

        Like

    • Cubby, I sincerely thank you for that most enthusiastic comment. I really appreciate it. And, yes, you are right. This is a serious matter and hopefully more of us will realize that fact and act accordingly.

      Again, I thank you!

      Like

  1. Your words ring strong, Shelby! You take us from despair to anger to action to hope. I love the stanza:
    “For the day of reckoning, I am prepared.
    With nothing to lose; why should I be scared?
    Our freedoms are gone and justice is dead.
    Liberty resides in a padlocked shed.”

    Like

    • Thank you Shainbird! Hope is what I am striving for because many of us have nothing left.

      Again, I appreciate your comment of support. I am in no way in your league. I’m just a beginner. But Ima tryin’. As you can see.

      Like

  2. @Prince. I hopped on the buses today and handed out flyers and leaflets and spoke with people and not a one was interested in what I had to say about the issues that many are facing. So, que sera sera! I tried.

    Like

Leave a Reply

