“God Bless!”

man put out after Thanksgiving meal

“What good is it, my brothers, if someone says he has faith but does not have works? Can that faith save him? If a brother or sister is poorly clothed and lacking in daily food, and one of you says to them, “Go in peace, be warmed and filled,” without giving them the things needed for the body, what good is that? So also faith by itself, if it does not have works, is dead. But someone will say, “You have faith and I have works.” Show me your faith apart from your works, and I will show you my faith by my works.” James 2:14-18

Even though the cameras are not rolling and the volunteers have put the last dish away and the homeless have been sent on their way, the problem remains. That one meal will not take them through tomorrow and the day after that. When the holidays are over, the holidays that shine a light on the homeless and the hungry. What then? Turn out the lights, close the door and the homeless are out of sight and out of mind, once again? Until next Thanksgiving and Christmas? Many volunteers have that ‘feel good’ feeling of an accomplishment because for one day, they actually rolled up their sleeves and dished up some mashed potatoes for the homeless at a shelter and so the hard part is over, right? Nope! Those hundreds of thousands of poor souls who showed up to receive a meal on Thanksgiving Day are out there somewhere, cold, alone, shivering and that Thanksgiving meal served to them yesterday is no longer even a distant memory. Other more immediate concerns have taken the place of the warmth and laughter and filled plate of yesterday. “How do I make it?” “Where will I sleep?” “Who cares about me now?” “Why am I out on the streets in the richest country on the planet?” “How did this happen to me?” “My feet are freezing!” “Lord, somebody, please help me!” “God bless!”

One thought on ““God Bless!”

  1. Peace Sista,

    You effectively shamed me into doing something. I’ll be volunteering this season at shelters, food banks and kitchens. I do it in memory of my father and because I don’t do nearly enough to help people. I feel like it’s the least I could do outside of feeling sorry for people that need food and shelter.

    Like

Leave a Reply

