Shove It!

I am a simpering Victorian virgin. I am a veritable virago.

I am devilishly exciting and I am predictably unpredictable.

I love truth and justice and I abhor hate and ignorance.

I am a lover and a fighter. I am a woman, I’m a hussy.

I relish the operatic and I bull wrestle with the best.

I bring the bacon home and then I burn it in the pan.

I am wild and untamed. I am subtle and oh so innocent.

I am shy; I am a rebel with a ferocious battle cry.

I am angry; I am the calm in the eye of every storm.

I am never in the middle. I am the start; I am the finish.

I am a student of my life and I teach me every day.

I am so many different people and yet I am one; I am the same.

I look into my mirror and I love what I do see.

I have my own beliefs and a sense of right and wrong.

I will never look to others to define who I should be.

I am imperfect and I don’t care because I know what’s in my heart.

I am me and I am beautiful and I am proud of who I am.

I am never one for bullshit, you can shove that up your ass.

I am Shelby I. Courtland and I never say what I don’t mean.

Written by,
(yeah, you guessed it!)Shelby I. Courtland
© 2013 Shelby I. Courtland

10 thoughts on “Shove It!

    • LOL! Awesome comment! I thank you! And I must say that I am SO glad that you stopped in because I have now found my way over to your blog and seriously, I am still reeling from what I read. Powerful, most powerful! You have a way of telling your story that I have not come across and I cannot wait to read more. You are so very strong and you have kept a sense of humor throughout all of the hardships that you have endured and the shit tossed your way and your beautiful heart shows through your writings. You remind me of my poem, “She’s A Nubian Queen!” What I read on your blog, brought tears to my eyes! Hell!!! Just thinking about it is getting me all teary eyed again!

      Stay strong and please know that there are those of us who have never met you, but you have managed to touch us with your story. Thank you for sharing it.

      Like

      • I look forward to reading that poem, I was so delighted to find your blog, your words are inspiring. I have strong days and days full of doubts and this piece showed me how to shore up those doubtful days with the truth. Have you ever considered running workshops or encouraging people to write down their truth as a mantra of power? I was thinking everyone should do this for themselves at least once, they don’t have to share it, but they should know it, because life circumstances don’t always reflect the reality of our “I am, so you all better get used to it… “

        Like

  1. Jamborobyn, you may find this hard to believe, but most people have to take me in ‘small doses’ as I have the unique ability of getting peoples’ ‘goat up’, to put it nicely. The last time that I was invited to speak and share my gifts and talents, there was a riot. It would seem that almost everywhere I go, I cause chaos, pandemonium and bedlam, not to mention stampedes.

    Seriously though, I have just moved to the outer corners of the world where only myself and the deer and the antelope play because I wanted a breather from being constantly in the fray. I wanted to be too far away for people to pick up the phone and call Shelby to the rescue. I was basically becoming ‘burnt out’. I have been a homeless advocate for many years and I needed a respite before I resume the fight. I will be taking part in the upcoming March For The Homeless. So, one day, who knows, I just might decide to ‘do’ something with this fire that I have that will not stay quenched.

    Thank you so much for that comment! It made MY day!!! And come back anytime you want to, you are always welcome here and many times, there is a bit of back and forth fun going on as we’re mostly just one big, happy family and we welcome YOU!!!!

    Like

    • Shelby, I don’t find it hard to believe now that you mention it. I am such a catalyst for change that I attract a lot of opposition. If there is anything untrue or untoward going on, the minute I enter the scene (even when I say nothing at all) all bets are off and the sh** hits the fan usually landing on my face. Knowing that your own energy requirements come first or you won’t be around to help anyone else is a lesson I am still trying to get the hang of.

      What you need to “do” with your fire will find you, I have no doubt about that. In the meantime , this is where I found the comment about you… http://deconstructingmyths.com/2013/11/30/moving-the-chains/

      Like

      • You continue being the catalyst and change will have no option but to come because you will not stand for anything less. Make that well known that you will not tolerate the bullshit. I call bullshit when I see it and throw it right back and in most cases, better than I got.

        You, please, just keep being you and to hell with the naysayers. And don’t worry, you will get the hang of keeping your eye on the prize, YOUR energy requirements. Live up to YOUR expectations and nobody else’s. Take care of YOU, first and foremost and let the chips fall where they may.

        Awww! Jeff is a dear one! Thank you for posting the comment! Jeff inspires me in so many ways. He is so deep and caring and he’s one of the finest bloggers here. Whenever the tracker shows up a new post from Jeff, I light up like a Christmas tree and head on over! And I am never disappointed. No one is when they read what Jeff writes. Nor was I disappointed when I read what YOU write. Keep writing, you’ve got a knack for it ‘mate’. Yeah, yeah, I know a little Aussie’ slang.

        Like

Leave a Reply

