Devil Of A Full Moon

full moon and devil

When the moon is full, I turn.
My skin just starts to burn.

The mind plays trick on me.
I am a christian don’t you see.

Hell opens up a bit to give us just a peek.
The dead get up and play, a game called hide and seek.

Demons, christians and warlocks join hands and sing a song.
They’re all one and the same and they all do get along.

They sing the stuff of legend in the glow of the first full moon.
Their singing turns to lusty shouts and no more are they heard to croon.

They dance and call for the devil as a cloud begins to hover.
The devil steps forth to claim them, after all, he is their lover.

His breath is fierce and hot and his eyes are like smoldering embers.
He is horny for all to see and he takes pride in his swollen members.

One penis, the devil does not have, he has to please his pets.
He opts to bless the doctors since the devil needs his vets.

Ah, the full moon and its powers, it brings forth insanity.
And then the devil walks the earth bringing chaos and calamity.

Pray when the moon is full and don’t get caught out in the night.
For if you meet up with the devil, remember, he has a voracious appetite!

Written by,
Shelby I. Courtland
©2014 Shelby I. Courtland

11 thoughts on “Devil Of A Full Moon

  1. I remember a time in Catholic school many, many, many moons ago when a rather firebrand nun spoke to me about the devil. Her rant was eerily similar to Jules’ in Pulp Fiction:

    “The path of the righteous man is beset on all sides
    By the inequities of the selfish and the tyranny of evil men.
    Blessed is he who, in the name of charity and good will,
    Shepherds the weak through the valley of darkness,
    For he is truly his brother’s keeper and the finder of lost children.
    And I will strike down upon thee with great vengeance and furious anger
    Those who attempt to poison and destroy my brothers.
    And you will know my name is the Lord when I lay my vengeance upon you.”

    She scared the hell out of me!

    Like

    • Robert, I cannot tell you how many people have contacted me about what fear the Catholic religion has instilled in them and they take such delight in my poems about ‘christianity’ because you know how I tear unholy hell out of the hypocritical christians. And I must say that I have also had more than my fair share of offers to ‘convert’ me and save my soul from the hell fire that according to some of my readers, I am bound for. Hell, I’m champagne bent and hell bound or is that hell bent and champagne bound? LMAO!!!

      Seriously though, the catholic church has much to answer for as does most christian religions because their main objective is to instill fear and terror in people to the point that they strip them of all their worldly goods when they hand them over in exchange for a promised entrance through the pearly gates and into the delights of heaven. Never mind that many experience hell on earth, well, that is just because they have not been saved, doncha know? Never fear, I shall continue to take great delight in refuting the bullshit as preached by the ‘christian heathens’ or at least attempting to lessen the fear instilled by the christians and their thirst for all things, ‘worldly goods and such’!!

      Thank you for your comment! And watch out for that full moon and all!!! LOL!!

      Like

    • Ah! The good ‘bishop Eddie Long, eh? I’ve got some choice words for HIM! Apparently, he has been anointed ‘king of the Jews’? I’m sure that isn’t going over well with THAT christian sect. Is the ‘good’ bishop trying to start another (un)holy war or what? He’s definitely fleecing his flock in Georgia, gotta hand it to ‘im. He’s working it and working it GOOD! Hell, he’s even got the flock carrying him around as if he is the supreme ruler of the world! You tell ole greasy, cheesy Eddie Long to bring it and I’ll smack the shit out of his foolish looking hypocritical ass and enjoy myself tremendously while doing it!!! I love a good (un)holy battle!!! And let the ‘wars’ begin!!!

      Thanks HLJ! You made my day!! LMAO!!!!

      Like

      • LOL!! You made my day.

        Off topic: what is your view on Gabourey Sidibe and people looking up to her? The reason I asked is because I got into a discussion with a coworker about her.

        I don’t think it’s a good to parade and promote a unhealthy lifestyle when so many Black folk are already overweight. What say you?

        Like

  2. @HLJ, it ain’t just Black folk that’s overweight, at least not in America, that is. Obesity is an epidemic in America from what I hear. Now, when I was in the southern part of the U.S., I saw both young Black girls and young white girls that were extremely overweight for their age. Back in my day, when I was their age, we didn’t have that problem, but things are different today. With growth hormones in the foods we eat and the fact that many young people are placed on medications at such an early age, I think that this contributes to the obesity epidemic that is so talked about in America.

    Not to mention that this is a fast paced world we’ve set for ourselves and when everything is grab Micky D’s and go, what can we expect? Children are hooked on video games are not outside playing like children should and this is another contributing factor. Habits start early and are learned and when the habits start out bad, there ya go.

    Now some people cannot lose weight for the life of them despite everything and some people have medical issues that cause them to gain weight. You can’t just look at everyone and say, “oh he/she can’t pull themselves away from the table or they should leave the All-You-Can-Eat Buffet to those who weigh 100 lbs. Not all ‘skinny’ people are healthy and not all overweight people are unhealthy. Some folks body can tolerate more weight than others. Black women can often carry more weight and still look good. When a size 8 is deemed, fat, that’s a problem.

    Also, take a look at this link and it will give you a slight idea about the differences in how Black women and white women lose weight though both are doing the same exercises and in-taking the same amount of calories.

    http://news.msn.com/us/african-american-women-have-harder-time-losing-weight

    So, as you can see, many Black women have a harder time losing weight, but it isn’t, in most cases, for lack of trying. If Gabourey Sidibe is healthy, then more power to her. However, people should not look up to ANYONE as a role model to determine whether or not they should lose weight. They should talk with their health care professional and seek advice as to what their options are and if they have been trying to lose weight and can’t, then their doctor can do tests to determine if they have a condition that warrants treatment. Certain thyroid or gland disorders can cause weight gain. Certain antidepressants and other medications can cause weight gain. It’s not a Black and white issue, it is an individual and the state of their health issue.

    I basically strive to be healthy and I have found that I must continuously walk and be active to keep the weight off. I can’t let up for a minute. Losing weight is a lifestyle change, it is not a diet and that is what people don’t get. It cannot be a ‘New Year’s Resolution’. There’s a saying, “a moment on the lips, a lifetime on the hips!” So, true and that is why before I open my mouth, I make sure that what I’m putting in it is worth it. If I know that I’m going to sip champagne, it will be a salad for me and that is all. But, everyone is not me.

    So as for this young lady being a role model, again, no one should be a role model, they should confer with their medical professional. And since I don’t know much about her, I can’t speculate as to why she is perceived as overweight, but I am sure that if she is perceived as being overweight, she gets enough flack for it and doesn’t need any more of it from me.

    Hope that answers your question. I don’t look at movies or TV and I had to do a ‘search’ of this young lady, so like I said, I don’t know her situation, medically speaking.

    Like

      • Thank you Tube for that most enthusiastic comment. Now, YOU have also made MY day! And Tube, the sad truth is that we’ve got people on both sides of the spectrum, making themselves sick because they are made to feel ashamed of their bodies due to peer pressure or pressure from society and what society dictates that the human form should look like. If a person is healthy, regardless of what their size, let them be. People have committed suicide because they were persecuted to death over their weight. I refuse to join the ‘bash the perceived as overweight’ people. It’s just not right.

        No one is telling people to look at this particular person and emulate them, that is their choice and the person who is perceived to be overweight is not the one at fault. Nor should they continue to take flack simply because some people seem to NEED someone to show them how to even walk down the damn street and chew gum at the same damn time. Fuck that shit!!

        I am so glad that you are in agreement with me! And thank you again for your comment!

        Like

  3. Shelby,
    I suspect you type 500 words a minute.
    The conversations outshine the poem–which is no mean piece of work.
    —2 cents regarding weight and exercise in these states—IF every school required real physical exercise every day for an hour, everyone would be much healthier. At the time I ventured through grades 1 through 12 I resided in the state of IL–one of the very few with a public school system requirement for daily PE. When done well this creates life long exercisers as it can provide an opportunity for young people to discover something involving physical motion which they actually enjoy. I and my cohorts were lucky enough to learn everything from square dancing to field hockey –as in learn to do it properly. It made a huge difference in our daily lives. it was preventive medicine via the school. Since that time I’ve lived in states where the public schools barely provide enough books for children—and I have no doubt you can follow my line of thought from here…

    Hello. 🙂

    Oh as for Catholic Nuns—well, the thing is to remember that if you cut them, they too shall bleed.

    Like

    • Ah…you are SO astute! Yes, indeed my fingers fly over the keyboard. When I was in junior high school, I learned typing and took a typing class every year. It paid off big time because back then, little did we know that computers would replace typewriters and yes, I am telling on myself because it would seem that I walked the earth with the dinosaurs. But who the hell cares, society can kiss my ass. I am SO polite. LOL!

      I am so glad that you mentioned PE classes because when I was in school, we also had an hour each day of just moving and there just wasn’t that many overweight kids that I can remember. Oh, how I adored square dancing. We used to play volleyball and this one guy would always try and hit the ball for us girls as though we couldn’t hit the damn thing. If we by chance knocked the ball over the net, he would say, “ah Shelby ate her ‘Wheaties’ this morning!” We played tennis, softball, crab soccer, basketball, we did gymnastics, you name it and we were doing it. Now, I believe that Physical Education is elective and not mandatory and more’s the pity because it’s had a devastating effect on the waistlines of children all over America. Hell! We even had a jukebox in the lunchroom and was encouraged to dance. Every morning before school got started, we would congregate in the lunchroom and dance and then again when lunchtime came around. We had such fun. Nowadays, there are school shootings everywhere and it’s just gotten to be ludicrous. We had none of that mess happening in my day. I actually feel sorry for the kids of today because they have to grow up so much faster. They are not children for long.

      And about the Catholic nuns, oh indeed, I have stated on many occasion that though they take their vows, they can try and hide their human needs and longings, but at the end of the day, they are still just as human as the rest of us and therefore, fallible.

      I thank you for your comment because for the second time today, I have been taken down memory lane and it was ALL good!

      Like

Leave a Reply

