Cringe Away!

poor

You cringe away from me because I smell bad.
It’s called, ‘Eau de Poor’, the new perfume fad.
Add to that, the homeless clothing line,
and layers of rags are the latest design.

My needs are many and I cannot name them all.
Nor can I go shopping since I’m barred from the mall.
The milk of human kindness never looks my way.
Humanity’s concern for me just took a holiday.

What I wouldn’t give to see the look on your face
when I sit myself beside you in a nice, fancy place.
The quivering of your nostrils means you don’t like my scent.
I am what you hate; I am the ninety-nine percent.

Written by,
Shelby I. Courtland
©2014 Shelby I. Courtland

6 thoughts on “Cringe Away!

Leave a Reply

