Where Is The Outrage?

zekhwkg

What will it take to wake America’s dead?
Should I prepare a most lavish spread?

On our menu we always serve, “Ignorance Is Bliss!”
Americans are clueless and think nothing’s amiss.

As propaganda revs up, the truth gets distorted.
Another drone strike is authorized; no mission aborted.

The menu keeps growing as the body count rises.
And another day dawns, with no new surprises.

I wait for the awakening and the questioning tongues.
Where is the outrage from air-filled lungs?

Lies and distractions fill every bowl.
They go down with ease as you swallow them whole.

Are the dead really dead or are they all just asleep?
From the people of America, I don’t hear a peep.

The world is on fire and the rivers run red.
Is this a bad dream or are you really dead?

Keep eating from the plate of selfish delight.
No one can ever satisfy that beast’s appetite.

Once you’re on the menu, your ass is toast.
You’re no longer alive, you’ve the substance of a ghost.

Written by,
Shelby I. Courtland
©2014 Shelby I. Courtland

9 thoughts on “Where Is The Outrage?

      • Yeah, for all of our tomorrows but in truth for all our yesterdays as well. “Americans are clueless and think nothing’s amiss.” Like Tubularsock’s total life so far ……… I am so fucking tired of all this shit!

        Like

    • Why Unca Wiggly, that’s gotta be you!!! I never know when you’re gonna show up! But I’m always glad to see you!! I wish I had thought of ‘adverse’ ’cause I’m ‘adverse’ all up in here as you can see.

      You cutie pie, you! Don’t be a stranger!!!!

      …and thank you ever so much for commenting!!!!

      Like

      • A true thrill for me! I got banned off NewsVine for sticking up for old Katt, who once marched with MLK Jr.. I was surprised to get thru to you . . . Hope you are pursuing your studies.
        mongokuku@outlook.com

        Like

  1. “Yeah, for all of our tomorrows but in truth for all our yesterdays as well.”

    …as Shakespeare said,

    “Tomorrow, and tomorrow, and tomorrow,
    Creeps in this petty pace from day to day
    To the last syllable of recorded time,
    And all our yesterdays have lighted fools
    The way to dusty death. Out, out, brief candle!
    Life’s but a walking shadow, a poor player
    That struts and frets his hour upon the stage
    And then is heard no more. It is a tale
    Told by an idiot, full of sound and fury,
    Signifying nothing.”

    We learn nothing from our yesterdays and so our tomorrows are just as our yesterdays were. I hear ya Tube! I hear ya man!

    “I am so fucking tired of all this shit!”

    That makes two of us! Tube, if people ever went back and read my postings from the very beginning of this blog, they would find that as time goes by, I get more and more angry and it shows. My writings start off tame as tame can be, but no one can say that about my writings today and of the past couple of months. I am so goddamn fed up with this absolute nonsense that is American apathy and complacency! I am so goddamn tired and fed up with hearing about how we need to keep fighting. Keep fighting? Are we fighting? We are NOT fighting. We are writing and like I’ve stated many times before, nowadays, “the pen is no longer mightier than the sword,” because many, many, many of us are saying the same goddamn thing over and over and over again and we’re expecting different results every time. We are fucking talking to ourselves, that we are! We have joined the insanity crowd, pop a goddamn ‘happy’ pill and where is Dr. Bramhall when we need her! She’s the head shrink and can just prescribe us all some goddamn happy pills and we can just go play all day like everybody else. “Cause we ain’t doing a goddamn thing but pissing in the wind and it’s coming back and striking me in the fucking face and I ain’t hardly liking it.

    Somebody! ANYBODY! Please tell me just how the fuck are WE fighting???!!!! HUH????

    Damn Tube! Sorry, man! Hope you don’t think I stole your thunder, but I feel ya man, I feel ya! And it ain’t a good feeling!!!!

    We’re just so fucking helpless to do a goddamn thing and that rankles, that fucking rankles!

    Like

  2. I Love your poetry, for it is always most timely and addresses vital issues.

    …as Shakespeare said,

    “Cry Havoc! and let slip the dogs of war,
    That this foul deed shall smell above the earth
    With carrion men, groaning for burial.”
    Phew!

    … as Friedrich Hegel said,

    “The only thing we learn from history is that we learn nothing from history.”

    … and someone also once said,

    “All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good people do nothing.”

    So we must fight with all of our hearts!

    Like

Leave a Reply

