“I Make Thirty-Eight Thousand Dollars A Year!”

Wages

Before taxes, I make thirty-eight thousand dollars a year.
My wife is filing for food stamps before the check can clear.

My job is stressful and my family, I never get to see.
When my son was born, I was killing another family.

You see, I made a commitment to kill or be killed.
And for thirteen years, I’ve never left the battlefield.

Soon, my son will be a grown man and what will I tell him?
“To be a man son, see those people over there, kill them!”

“Take my place and get your thirty-eight thousand dollars too
and when your son is born, tell him what I told you!”

…..on and on, it goes…..

Written by,
Shelby I. Courtland
©2014 Shelby I. Courtland


Cannon fodder! You don’t have a problem with this?

In what world does an annual salary of $174,000 meet the definition of underpaid?

That would be in the nation’s capital, where soon-to-be-retired Rep. Jim Moran, D-Va., said Americans should know that their members of Congress — as the board of directors for the “largest economic entity in the world” — are underpaid.

http://www.npr.org/blogs/itsallpolitics/2014/04/04/299078253/congressmans-lament-174-000-isnt-enough-to-make-ends-meet

…or this?

More military families used food stamps to buy milk, cheese, meat and bread at military grocers last year.

Food stamp redemption at military grocers has been rising steadily since the beginning of the recession in 2008. Nearly $104 million worth of food stamps was redeemed at military commissaries in the fiscal year ended Sept. 30.

Base pay for a new soldier with a spouse and kid is around $20,000, just above the poverty line (No wonder you qualify for food stamps).

http://money.cnn.com/2014/02/17/news/economy/military-food-stamps/

You signed up to kill or be killed and some piece of shit congressional ‘representative’ ain’t paid enough but he has no problem voting to send you off to die while he sits back in what should be comfortable retirement, but he feels underpaid. You on the other hand, start out with a wife and child ‘earning’ $20,000 and eligible for food stamps. It is quite apparent that the U.S. military is not too picky in choosing their cannon fodder because quite frankly anyone who would go for this set-up is crazy! For real!!!!

13 thoughts on ““I Make Thirty-Eight Thousand Dollars A Year!”

    • …and yet, we’re voting worthless shits into office that’s looking askance at $174,000! If that don’t beat all! Congressman Fucktard claims that he’s underpaid, well, call him up and tell him to trade incomes with you and then talk to YOU about being UNDERPAID! Ain’t that some shit or what? It’s some shit and what the fuck!!!

      Hang in there Skulz! May the force be with you man!! Lawd have mercy! I feel like preachin’ today! Problem is, my preachin’ won’t fatten your wallet.

      There is SO much that is just SO goddamn wrong!

      Hugs,
      Shelby

      Like

      • There is a certain air of nobility to being a pauper. No strings are attached and I get very few pleas for cash. I really have all that I need to get by. You know a way back in the day and I started writing for a living and had several books published, I made exactly $24.97. So I gave up the pretense of becoming an “accomplished” author. Then Buckaroo Bush became el Presidente and that changed everything.

        Like

    • …and it’s the hypocrites themselves(like that piece of congressional shit whining about $174,000) that are doing the fat cat living off the dole and still complaining about it. If Congressman Fucktard didn’t appreciate the salary, then why the fuck did he run for office? And he’s a goddamn democRAT at that. And everybody thinks that there is a distinct difference between the democRATS and the reTHUGliCONS. Ain’t no goddamn difference. They’re all a bunch of useless, lazy, overpaid, stuffed and puffed up shits.

      And yet, they want to talk about cutting ‘entitlements’. They’re the nasty fucks that act entitled and they are; entitled to a 6 figure taxpayer paid income AND taxpayer paid designer health care AND still sitting somewhere moaning over the paucity of it all while cutting off benefits for the long-term jobless and cutting the hell out of food stamps for the hungry. And we’re just sitting back somewhere, sucking our thumb and listening to this shit as opposed to going the fuck off!

      I fucking despair of U.S.!!

      Of course, as you can see, I’ve gone off the deep end again. It don’t take much Jeff. But know that I truly appreciate your comment. I sincerely do! Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, but did you see the recent photo op of the FLOTUS surrounded by female military vets? She’s going to help them. Ain’t that sweet?

      Michelle Obama Featured on REDBOOK Cover, Dedicated to Helping Female Vets

      “Despite years of training and service, women leaving the military today face unprecedented challenges finding work, even more so than male vets. REDBOOK brought them to the White House to talk to Michelle Obama about their struggles and dreams. In a feature story found on the November cover, the editor-in-chief talks with five different women to explore their situations. Here, Michelle Obama shares her thoughts on education, her post-White House work, and why this is an issue for all Americans.”

      http://www.msn.com/en-us/lifestyle/career/michelle-obama-featured-on-redbook-cover-dedicated-to-helping-female-vets/ar-BB81nJs

      They’re military vets and the VA is up and running and since they served their country well, they shouldn’t be wanting for anything much less needing ‘a pretend to care hypocrite’s dubious photo op ‘help’!

      Why doesn’t the hypocritical FLOTUS do a photo op with these female veterans?

      “Even as the Pentagon lifts the ban on women in combat roles, returning servicewomen are facing a battlefield of a different kind: they are now the fastest growing segment of the homeless population, an often-invisible group bouncing between sofa and air mattress, overnighting in public storage lockers, living in cars and learning to park inconspicuously on the outskirts of shopping centers to avoid the violence of the streets.

      While male returnees become homeless largely because of substance abuse and mental illness, experts say that female veterans face those problems and more, including the search for family housing and an even harder time finding well-paying jobs. But a common pathway to homelessness for women, researchers and psychologists said, is military sexual trauma, or M.S.T., from assaults or harassment during their service, which can lead to post-traumatic stress disorder.”

      http://www.nytimes.com/2013/02/28/us/female-veterans-face-limbo-in-lives-on-the-street.html?pagewanted=all&_r=0

      Yeah, Dr. Bramhalll, so much for those two worthless shits in the WH doing much to help the veterans, female or male!

      …and again, thank you for taking the time to comment. I appreciate all comments, especially from you!

      Like

  1. Shelby, Damn and blast — and make me stop, right now … When and if our honorable elected ‘board of directors’ ever condescend to do a conscientious job of running our American enterprise, then — and not before — I may agree that the sons of hypocrites are underpaid! And I hold my breath waiting for the bastards to do anything but run us into the ground. Some expressions of fatuity and obliviousness should absolutely earn an immediate death sentence! If you were in this fools’s position, would you say such shit out loud, even if you believed it? But why not? What will it ever cost him? Sorry for ranting, but all of this just … gets to me sometimes. I’ve got some dandy hones and sharpeners whenever anybody wants to get all those guillotines up and running. Thanks for this, but remind me not to read your posts at bedtime! – Linda

    Like

    • Linda, bless your heart! I am most definitely not ‘good bedtime reading’. Believe me, the flute is always handy(for medicinal purposes of course)when something blows my mind. And this most certainly blew it. And I wouldn’t want to stop you for the world and I’ve told you time and time again that this is a rant friendly zone. Please! I insist that you make use of it, although, I am sorry to know that I have caused you untold anguish in attempting to enjoy a peaceful night of rest. I know you don’t imbibe, but maybe you could make an exception just this once.

      I seriously feel that anyone making 6 figures is paid more than enough especially when they are doing nothing to ‘earn’ it. They don’t have to pay for their health care and yet, they expect many Americans who are working for poverty wages, to stop complaining that they are hungry and practically homeless. Why didn’t Congressman Fucktard apply at McDonalds, let him stand and flip some goddamn burgers or man the cash register and get cussed out on a daily basis by the foul ass public demanding 5 star service and food from a negative star hamburger joint with fake ass killer food.

      I really should be amazed at the shit that goes down, but for some strange reason, I no longer am. And I never wanted to be one of those people who just sort of get immune to what goes on around them and just become blissfully ignorant and rather be distracted by my toys. But gee fucking whiz! Some things just take the goddamn cake and eat it too and this was one such instance.

      Maybe, I should start posting a warning for my readers of what’s a head. “Attention: Proceed with caution, you are not going to like what you read.”

      Linda, would that help?

      My hope is that you’ll catch your 40 winks and be as right as rain tomorrow. Think about a rainforest. The deep, lush, tropical, humid atmosphere and you hear the sounds made by animals that most people have never laid eyes on. You should almost be asleep by now, unless one of those animals was hungry. LMAO!! Sorry Linda, I am SO bad!!

      Love ya!
      Shelby

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks Shelby, I’m fine, survived the hungry rain forest and everything … so far. But may the gods pity the next idiot who starts muttering about all our worthless lazy poor people! I come from a long line of violent Appalachian-Americans (is that term still acceptable? I can’t keep up!) and this could be the time I revert to that dysfunctional approach to the world! But I’ll TRY to be good. Probably. – Linda

    Like

    • Linda, I got some ‘mountain’ folk from Virginia in my genetic code and if they ain’t about some mean motherfuckers, I don’t know who is. Remember, on one of my previous blog posts, I stated that our baby bottles were filled with moonshine, white lightning as opposed to milk, well that was just part of our unusual upbringing. At the age of 2, I could lift a man clean over my head and throw him 30 feet. We was into contests for strength and endurance and next we had to get a running start and run clean up a tree, touch the top branch and shimmy down, all within the time frame of the score keeper knocking back 5 shots of moonshine. I usually came in first or second. I’ve got several authentic hand carved trophies shaped like whiskey jugs to prove it.

      Then my parents, sister and brother that they were, was married in true hillbilly fashion and I’se a product of that union. They tell’s me that that was some shotgun weddun. The groom when half sobered up, didn’t like the looks of his bride and tried to jump off the mountain. But since there were so many ‘whiskey jug’ prize winners, he never even made it two feet afore he was brought down and held at gunpoint, until an itinerate preacher man, that was roaming through the mountains, could finish the ceremony. And I am so thankful that that thar preacher man could read and write ’cause that’s why I’m here all legal like.

      So, if I can get away with considering myself to be a fine, upstanding citizen after the upbringing I had, I feel sure that you can say, “violent Appalachian-Americans.” It’s acceptable, in MY book. LMAO!!

      ..and I am so glad that you slept soundly Linda, I was mortified at the idea of keeping you awake all night over my ranting and raving.

      Bless your heart! We’ll look out for each other seeing as how we got some ‘common’ background. ROTFLMAO!!

      Linda, ya know I love ya!
      Shelby

      Liked by 1 person

  3. As John Adams once said,

    “In my many years I have come to a conclusion that one useless man is a shame, two is a law firm, and three or more is a congress.”

    Sometimes the American people forget that the job of a Congressperson is getting re-elected.
    It’s a type of help-yourself-program. And they have helped themselves.

    Besides their salary check out their health plan …… on second thought don’t, it will make YOU sick!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Tube, I just know that they got ‘designer healthcare coverage’ that most Americans could only dream about and we’re fucking paying for it and those lousy useless bastards are biting the hand that feeds and gives them that goddamn undeserved designer healthcare coverage. But of course, that’s not good enough, they are FORCED, of course, by severe poverty, to accept bribes and kickbacks from lobbyists with briefcases filled with money and an agenda. That shit that we ‘elect’ is sick! And what does that say for us because we are responsible for that shit getting in office.

      I don’t know why we don’t refuse to vote especially since there’s not a goddamn thing worth voting for. Worms and dogs are slithering and sliding around Washington, DC. and nothing we ‘vote’ IN is going to change the status quo. I’m fucking sitting this election out and all that come after this one. Ain’t no use in my pretending anymore that I’m holding my nose and voting for the lesser of two evils. They are both one and the same. And a third party candidate doesn’t stand a snow ball’s chance in hell of getting elected and if by some chance they did, what would change? Not a goddamn thing!

      Thanks for your comment Tube!

      Like

Leave a Reply

