Move Over Thanksgiving Day!

shopping

I thought that I would be sad,
when I lost all that I had.
But I’m not shopping mad,
and for that I’m so damn glad.

Look at all those gifts we give.
For material things, that’s why we live.
We say we hate, but we forgive,
every corporate executive.

When is capitalism a crime
if I’m down to my last dime?
My credit gives me time,
but out of debt, will I ever climb?

Move over Thanksgiving Day!
Get it past and out of the way!
I need a shopping holiday.
‘Cause “giving thanks” is an old cliché.

Those Indians, what did they know?
Not one was a shopping pro.
That’s why they had to go.
They delivered to capitalism, quite a blow.

Just how thankful should we be,
such as an Iraqi refugee?
Oh, they love you and they love me,
since we came and made them flee.

Those in Ukraine are thankful too.
They’ve got Nazis with a swastika tattoo.
Thanks to that ever so helpful coup,
arranged by the good ole red, white and blue.

Americans are stupid and that’s for sure.
Their hearts don’t beat and their souls ain’t pure.
Compassion and selflessness will never endure.
They can’t be found in a Macy’s brochure.

So, hit the malls and department stores.
They’re selling their wares like strung-out whores.
When the gates open, feet pound the floors.
It never ends, those shopping wars.

You got hacked and now you’re back.
We assure you, we’ve stopped the attack.
Buy everything that’s on this rack.
This time next week, we’re shooting for Black!

Written by,
Shelby I. Courtland
©2014 Shelby I. Courtland

6 thoughts on “Move Over Thanksgiving Day!

    • “Makes Tubularsock want to go out and murder a turkey!”

      You and millions of other Americans! Bon appétit!

      Damn Tube, you’re witty as usual and I love it! Those poor, poor turkeys. Even filled with tryptophan, they cannot stop rabid shoppers. Oh wait! Were the murdered turkeys rabid? Maybe that would explain the behavior of the American shopper, eh? Because they certainly act like rabid animals snarling over an ‘unbeatable’ bargain. “To hell with it all!” I say. And let the ‘shopping games’ begin. Fuck the ‘hunger games’ that the poor homeless and hungry souls get to play. Don’t they know that ain’t no way to spend Black FriDAY?!!!!

      Thanks Tube!

      Like

    • Sigh!!! Linda, my little pitiful attempt here wouldn’t even elicit a disdainful glance from even one of the herd that’s about to stampede Wal-Mart, Kohl’s, Macy’s, J.C. Penney, Louis Vuitton and Kmart on Black Friday. Here again, I’ve tried to warn them but hot damn! It don’t matter ’cause Target’s gonna have such great bargains worth getting hacked AGAIN for, dontcha know as well as Home Depot, Neiman Marcus, Staples and even Kmart admits to having been hacked. But who the hell cares? We’ve got shopping to do!!

      Linda, thank you so much for your comment. I had to laugh at ‘go cold turkey’. LMAO!!! Between you and Tubularsock, you guys keep me roaring with laughter! Thanks again!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

