I Have A Purpose!

hope

When I just want to turn out the lights,
and shut the door and sleep,
I know that things have gotten to me,
And all I seem to do is weep.

But I pick myself up off the ground,
and I look towards the sky.
Though winter is here for awhile,
all the birds will not simply die.

I feel such hopelessness and anger,
and when all I want to do is quit,
I see the sun poke through the clouds,
and it’s not so dark from where I sit.

Life will never be all rosy.
Nor will it always treat me kind.
But I must not forget why I’m here.
I have a purpose to which I’ve been blind.

If a gift has been given to me,
and if what I say is true,
then I have a responsibility,
to keep trying to get through to you.

You may never get the message.
But I’ll keep trying all the same.
And if one day, I make a difference,
then I’ll be glad, I lit the flame.

Written by,
Shelby I. Courtland
©2014 Shelby I. Courtland

15 thoughts on “I Have A Purpose!

    • Thank YOU 1EarthUnited! I get to feeling ‘down’ so many times and then instead of dwelling on what I can’t do, I think about what I can. If I reach just one person, then I’ve done something and even though we know that so much bad is going on, I take stock of my surroundings and I look at the unconcerned nature of a bird or a squirrel and even though here, we have such harsh winters, they are going on about the business of living and not complaining. And sometimes, that’s just what we need to do. Just live! …and while we’re living, try and reach somebody else and let them know that they are not alone.

      Again, I thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Oh indeed it is hard Sojourner! But don’t we just appreciate ‘more’ what we’ve had to work harder at even if what we wish to achieve is to wake people up and we feel that we’re just not doing that. But you never know. We each have a purpose. Some people can make others feel something when they sing or act or dance and then some of us in our own little way, can stir feelings. We don’t have to be famous and in Hollywood. We just need to care and we do and it shows and it will spread.

      Thank you Sojourner! You should never stop writing, just as I should not because we ALL have something to say.

      Like

  1. Outstanding Shelby, you do indeed have a purpose. Hopefully your words open up the eyes of the blind to what is going on around them and give them even a little bit more humanity than they had before. Very well said and positive piece. – Dom

    Like

    • Bless your beautiful heart Dom. You too have something to say. Your poems are truly beautiful and filled with meaning. Your poems have stirred me many, many times and I hope that you will continue to write as well. Your warmth, compassion and humanity shine through in your poetry.

      Thank you for the comment and the compliment on this one. It is much appreciated!

      Like

  2. I can’t stop looking at the photo and thinking about this:

    “You are not my enemy and I am not yours. If only the thought of our two hands joined together, could catch on. Not a Black hand and not a White hand, but two HUMAN hands.”

    If only this were the norm, then how wonderful this life could be for all of humanity!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know, funny how that happened, my finding that picture not so long after that other blog post. Sometimes, things just fall into place. And Sojourner, we shall strive to make it, ‘the norm’. Shall we? Because really, we ALL need each other. We just need to realize that.

      Thank you so much for being you, Sojourner!

      Like

      • Yes, we all need each other!

        An old seventies lyric goes, “Rejoice! Rejoice! We have no choice but to carry on!”

        Thank you, Shelby!

        Like

Leave a Reply

