I’m Just Too Stubborn To Conform!

nonconformist

Place the noose around my neck.
Leave me for the birds to peck.
Drown me in a sea of blood.
I’ll be washed away in that crimson flood.

Do not think to quench my thirst.
I broke the rules, I’m now accursed.
Throw me in the lion’s den.
I’ll never make it out again.

Douse me good with gasoline.
Sit back and watch the fiery scene.
Beat me until my bones do break.
Then toss me in with a rattlesnake.

Bury me while I’m still alive.
Place a bet that I won’t survive.
Shove me off the train platform.
I’m just too stubborn to conform.

I would much rather stand alone,
than kneel before the emperor’s throne,
nor suffer fools that stand in line,
and feed at the trough of elitist swine.

Written by,
Shelby I. Courtland
©2015 Shelby I. Courtland

I wrote this poem for all who dare to question, who will not just accept, but will ask the tough questions, seek their own answers, dare to take a stand, even if you stand alone! I will not follow the crowd, nor will I conform to the dictates of a fucked up society that can no longer discern the innocent from the guilty and quite actually believe that the innocent are the guilty and the guilty are innocent. You choose ignorance and obedience. I choose truth and justice and that is why I have no problem standing alone!

10 thoughts on “I’m Just Too Stubborn To Conform!

  1. Reblogged this on An Outsider's Sojourn II and commented:
    Sorry, Shelby, I just had to reblog this! Your poem and following statement speak to me in ways you can’t imagine. I., too, am an outcast . And by casting me out, they did me a favor. They opened the door so the light could flood in and expose the lies,, the corruption, the evil, the filth that is this piece of shit country. I detest the crowd and always had, but it was their rejection of me that awakened me to the truth that I stand on now!

    They did me the greatest favor they ever could have, they exposed themselves for who they are.

    Thanks, Shelby!

    Like

    • Sojourner, never be sorry for reblogging anything of mine. I am always extremely flattered when someone does so. Believe me!

      And I discovered years ago that I will never blindly follow ANY leader right over a goddamn cliff. I don’t have a problem standing alone if it means that I can sleep with a clear conscience because I had the audacity to stand up and say, “Hell no! That shit ain’t right! I don’t care how many other people have fallen in line over some stupid shit!” And this ain’t just about that “I am Charlie Hebdo hasthtag” bullshit. This is about all of those stupid ice bucket challenges that supposedly got up money for some illness and who the hell knows where the money got to. Just like with the Jerry Lewis Labor Day telethon, they’ve been hosting that nonsense since I was a child and they ain’t found a goddamn cure yet? Where’d all the money go? But year after year, people come up with foolishness and millions of folks jump on the goddamn bandwagon and ride it where? They don’t even fucking know but because someone else is doing it, that means, they’ve got to do it too. Uh…not me! Never that! If it don’t fucking make any sense, they can count me the fuck out. I’ve never done what was popular, I try and do what’s right!

      And so I thank you much for your comment and for reblogging this one! It is much appreciated! And as far as I am concerned Sojourner, you are not the outcast, you cast THAT lot out! Just as I did! I had to beat ’em off with a stick and had no problem saying, “Get the fuck back, motherfuckers! I ain’t buying your bullshit! I’ll stand the fuck alone before I’ll eat a bullshit ‘samich’!

      Keep your head up Sojourner! And stay strong man!

      Like

    • Ding! Ding! Ding! And damn if you ain’t right again! You take the prize! We can’t say it enough! You can’t be too thin, even if you’re DEAD thin. You can’t be too beautiful, even if you have to go under the knife, multiple times. If you’re too pale, why get a tan, don’t worry about melanoma! If you’re losing your hair, go to a hair replacement center. Call the ‘Hair Club for Men. Women, you can come too and don’t forget there is Rogaine for both men and women. No price you could possibly pay is too high to achieve beauty and of course, it goes without saying that the cost is worth it to be admired, so says society, a society that can kiss my ass!

      And we wonder why so many people are walking around, heavily medicated and hooked on pain killers and crack and heroin and meth and anything else they can lay their hands on. Yes indeed, this society that we have created is killing us and we just can’t understand what the hell’s going on but we continue down the same path. “Oh, and the rehab center is right down the street. Stop in, get your 30 day rehab, now you’re good as new. And you’re back! Welcome! Come in and get another 30 day rehab for your rehab!”

      Yep, you are so right, conform to this society and get dead, physical or emotionally.

      I thank you for your comment Dr. Bramhall! Much appreciated!

      Like

  2. Hi Shelby. For me it all begin in 1st grade when that bitch of a nun slapped me upside my face for the love of Jesus–nearly knocked me out she did, I saw stars and stumbled, and authority changed my attitude hence forward–little by little. But you know what, looking back to those hard lessons learned those five years of Christian hell, taught me something I might not of ever learned.

    Peace, strength, courage.

    Like

Leave a Reply

