Torment!

blood dripping from a rose

There is nothing in my soul but torment!
I look around at what is happening in total bewilderment.
Beautiful and deep poetry from my soul is dead
thanks in part to the fact that each new day, I dread.
For what is there for me to look forward to?
Only anguish, tears and bloodshed do I see
and this does not for a moment, set me free!
Torment is in my soul and there it shall remain!
 The song I sing is a lament and so too is its sad refrain.

Written by,

Shelby I. Courtland

©2015 Shelby I. Courtland

5 thoughts on “Torment!

Leave a Reply

