Woman In Black!

woman in black

Beneath a Caribbean moon
I will take that which is mine.
With a dark determination
I fill his cup with wine.

I gaze at him hypnotically.
Our eyes lock as he sips
 I chose him just for me.
My poison is on his lips.

His lashes flutter, his eyes close
I have drugged my handsome knight.
In his dreams, he’s in dark places.
He’s my captive for tonight.

His dreams take him to Diamond Bay
where there’s a woman dressed in black.
She lures him to the ruins
 of an ancient, haunted shack.

There he doth behold
a nymph encased in ice.
The fire deep in his veins
takes them to paradise.

Her reflection in his eyes
tells of a different story.
Who has bewitched whom
in this enchanted purgatory?

The woman that I was
no longer exists in here.
As the huntress becomes the hunted
through my heart, he drives a spear.

Kiss me, my dear love
and I will kill no more.
Death has claimed its victory.
From my wound, the blood does pour.

In weakness, I am breathless.
Come close and kiss me quick.
As darkness lures me in
into his throat, my knife I stick.

In death, two lovers lie,
one was immortal, one was not.
This unearthly bond was broken
when one foiled an evil plot.

The moral of the story
is that no matter your desire
when there’s no meeting of the hearts
the results can be quite dire.

 

Written by,

Shelby I. Courtland

©2015 Shelby I. Courtland

4 thoughts on “Woman In Black!

  1. Shelby you are still awake or is it morning already, btw which part of the globe you live? I loved the last lines.😕😃😡🌻
    “when there’s no meeting of the hearts
    the results can be quite dire” bitter truth

    Liked by 1 person

    • LOL! Yes, I am still awake! I am a night owl. I prowl the nights with catlike stealth. In fact, my finest work is done at night, or so I think.

      I’m glad you liked it. Oh, and I am in the Midwest!

      Thank you for your comment!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

