My God Is Color Blind!

burned church

I sing that old Negro spiritual
every time they come for me.
They drag my tired old body
down yonder to the lynching tree.

We pass by that old church
where we worshipped in your name.
They burned it to the ground.
All that’s left is just the frame.

I see that old confederate flag.
Sometimes I forget it’s there
But when they call me ‘nigger’,
I know it ain’t going nowhere.

Lest I do forget
let me recall to mind
that old Negro spiritual
“My God is color blind.”

I’ve lived through slavery and Jim Crow.
And I’m tired and in need of rest.
Take me in your arms Lord.
You know I did my best.

I sing this song, a song of love,
I won’t be burdened by hate no more.
The Lord will welcome me home.
I’ll be glad to see heaven’s door.

Written by,
Shelby I. Courtland
©2015 Shelby I. Courtland

Investigators Probe Fires At 6 Black Churches In 5 Southern States

Fires damaged Glover Grove and some other black churches in the days following the murders at Emanuel AME Church in Charleston, raising concerns that the incidents were hate-inspired arsons.

Glover Grove Baptist Church is nestled in a woody, quiet part of Warrenville, S.C., surrounded by trailer homes and old cars. The congregation is small, about 35 people, according to local reports. You have to look hard online just to find a phone number or an address.

Hours before President Obama spoke to a packed house in Charleston last Friday in another black church, delivering the eulogy for state Sen. Clementa Pinckney, Glover Grove Baptist Church burned to the ground.

It is one of at least six black church burnings in the South, all of which have taken place in the week-and-a-half since nine people were killed in Emanuel AME Church.

Whatever the cause of the Glover Grove fire, Adonica Simpkins says she will still be afraid. We asked her what it’s like to be a black person in South Carolina.

“I tell you what, I wouldn’t walk down this road. I wouldn’t walk down this road,” she said, sighing as she pointed down the road where Glover Grove sits. “It’s so much hate. You might walk down the road and hear the word n*****, for nothing. People used to be riding by, and just throw bottles at black folks.”

Less than half a mile from the church and Simpkins’ home, a Confederate flag waves on a front porch.

“We had another church that burned down, over across the woods there,”

And while we are busy celebrating same-sex marriage and worrying over fast tracking of the TPP, it is business as usual for Black people in this hellhole and I am supposed to give a damn because someone else feels that their rights are being violated? Seriously? Once again, walk a goddamn mile in MY shoes and then come talk to ME!

Black folks, I sincerely hope that there is indeed a heaven for if there is, you have certainly ‘earned’ your spot and my sincere hope also is that you need have no fear that you will meet up with those that have spewed nothing but hatred towards you because of the color of your skin and because you were dragged, unwillingly, to this shithole.

10 thoughts on “My God Is Color Blind!

    • Thank you Leslie. I sit here with tears streaming down my face because I know just what they are going through down south. I know only too well. This is why they should have left well enough alone because after the cameras have stopped rolling and after Obama’s lame ass howling of ‘Amazing Grace’, Black people that live in the south will bear the burden of the stirring of this hornet’s nest. As if they don’t already have it bad enough as it is. People can sit miles away from where these events go down and continue to call for some action, but when they don’t live at ground zero, it is truly easy for them to ‘call the shots’ because what is going to go down is not going to impact them.

      Lord have mercy, what have they done?

      Again, I thank you for your comment Leslie!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. It is unconscionable what african-americans have to put up with everyday. Slavery is still alive and well in the south!

    When the 13th Amendment was passed, it contained a loophole that allowed individuals who were convicted of crimes to be held as slaves. Here is the relevant text from section 1 of the Amendment:

    “Neither slavery nor involuntary servitude, except as a punishment for crime whereof the party shall have been duly convicted, shall exist within the United States, or any place subject to their jurisdiction.”

    At the time, this loophole made it possible for plantations, mining companies and other industries to “rent” prisoners for their labor from the state and gave racist southern states financial incentives to create “black codes” to criminalize newly freed slaves so that they could be leased to for-profit industry. Over the years, this system of profitized incarceration shifted to involve prison-industries (ex. license plates), expanded across race lines, and fused with the drug war.

    http://theprogressivecynic.com/2015/06/29/removing-the-confederate-flag-from-statehouses-is-good-but-ending-the-slavery-that-it-represents-is-more-important/

    Liked by 1 person

    • “It is unconscionable what african-americans have to put up with everyday. Slavery is still alive and well in the south!”

      It is indeed 1EarthUnited! And sadly, no Supreme Court ruling, no taking down of the confederate flag, no refusal to issue license plates with the confederate flag on them will do a damn thing to stop what is going down. As in my comment to Leslie, after the media has left, Black people are going to have a hellacious time dealing with the fallout from something they never started. Hate is going nowhere! It is firmly entrenched in this hellhole and is just worse in some parts than in others. The south is synonymous with hate; always has been and always will be. That is why I got the hell out. But for the Black people that remain in the south because it is their home, there is no way out and by removing the confederate flag, it only stirred up shit that is now causing hatred to burn down predominately Black churches. Yes, we have come so far! And I hope you know that I am using extreme and exaggerated sarcasm in that previous sentence.

      Thank you for your comment and for the link!

      Like

  2. Those fires are absolutely terrible and can’t possible be a coincidence, it just never seems to stop. As I’ve said before I can’t possible know what is like to walk in your shoes and I truly wish you could walk in yours without fear. It’s the 21st century for God’s sake, this crap should have been long over by now (actually it never should have happened in the first place), but obviously there is still a very large contingent of the ignorant walking this earth. If I had to guess you won’t be running into any of them in Heaven (if there is one) as they’ve already reserved their seats in Hell…I hope they like the heat. Great post as always Shelby.

    Like

    • Dom, I sincerely thank you for your comment. I try not to let myself get consumed by hate, but it is hard when it is thrown at me day after day and for no reason whatsoever. That is what I just don’t get. We are hated and for what? Even if the haters were homeschooled by the most ignorant person alive, the history of this hellhole called America is well-known. The haters know why we are in AmeriKKKa and even though they MUST KNOW this, the hatred just continues to the point that they are burning down churches! It is just mindboggling how some can be so filled with irrational hatred for a group of people that has done nothing to them. SIGH! There’s obviously never going to be a solution to this. And you would certainly think that in the year 2015, we should NOT still be dealing with this, but the sad truth is that nothing has really changed. At least not from where I sit.

      Again, thank you for your comment. It is much appreciated!

      Like

Leave a Reply

