Black History

Black History Month

Dragged from your native land,
on a floating barge of death;
you built paradise for a thief
who then plundered all the wealth.

Your name was not your own.
You would never again be free.
To know such hate from them,
as they hang you from a tree.

They say that slavery’s over.
Go forth and earn your keep.
And though you labor long,
you’re valued much too cheap.

You were denied so many rights.
And the vote was not for you.
Though many marched and died,
the court bid that adieu.

Some think you’ve made great strides
in the face of all that’s wrong.
Yet they herd you into prison,
because they hate that you are strong.

Be wary of their smiles,
for they mean you so much harm.
If you’ve a talent, they’ll exploit it.
All over you, they’ll swarm.

They’ll use you and then kill you.
You’re nothing but a thing,
and when your candle’s burned
you’ll feel ole Massa’s sting.

Don’t ever let your guard down,
and it doesn’t pay to trust.
Shield from them any weakness.
Always show them your disgust.

Black history holds no fame.
And it certainly gets no cheer.
Times have never changed.
They still look at you and jeer!

Written by,
Shelby I. Courtland
©2014 Shelby I. Courtland

Although this one is pretty much self-explanatory, I will just add that though there are a few, and I do mean few stories about progress that some Negroes have made, the fact remains that this is no time to be celebrating because the majority of us are fucked up and just a glance around will make that fact, quite obvious.

I was pretty much torn over what to post about this month and I see no reason to attempt to put together some feel good shit because nothing ‘feels’ good to me, not at all. Too much nasty shit has gone down and the murder of Freddie Gray, Tamir Rice, Renisha McBride, Aiyana Jones, Sandra Bland, Walter Scott, John Crawford, Eric Garner, Michael Brown and there are so many others are still too raw for me, emotionally speaking, to post any uplifting stories about Negro history during what the ‘whites’ have designated, “Black History Month.”

I will leave it up to others to showcase the ‘feel good’ shit of Negro history and if any inspiration should strike me, you’ll be the second to know.

5 thoughts on “Black History

    • I thank you most kindly for posting the link Dr. Bramhall. I will be sure to check it out! I can quite honestly say that I have not read, seen or heard as much about Bob Marley as I would like and I will take this opportunity to rectify that. And as of course you know, the fight continues! SIGH!

      Again, thank you for your comment and for the link!

      Like

Leave a Reply

