I Am The Proud Recipient Of One Of The Grand Nidotopian Afro-Power Awards

awarded to me

 

And I did not have to answer a lot of useless questions in order to be awarded this. I was awarded this because of the hard work that I put into this blog and quite frankly, that in and of itself, should be enough if someone wants to give me an award. There should be no strings attached because when bloggers like myself, post their own content including poetry and essays, we have already done the hard part. To expect us to answer a lot of dumb questions and start what basically amounts to a chain letter is just beyond the end of enough and quite frankly, I breathed a sigh of relief when fellow bloggers stopped nominating me for awards that I had to ‘earn’ above and beyond what I was doing that got me nominated in the first place.

So, keep your awards that come with strings attached. I appreciate being recognized and rewarded on the strength of what I do on a daily basis. I have no time to answer useless questions and then make up others. My work is original and that right there should speak for how much time and effort is put into it.

Nidotopianwarrior, you are the exception and not the rule because you presented to me this award without any strings attached and I cannot thank you enough. Because you recognized all the effort that is put into what bloggers like me, do. You understand that it takes a lot to put together poetry and pictures to accompany it and in addition to that, write my own essays and do research on them before I publish them, as well. Not to mention, that other things are going on at the same time.

And so, I want to take this opportunity to laud you for recognizing everything that must be done before the final product is published and again, for awarding me this coveted prize. I will treasure it always and I shall continue to strive to outdo myself and to continue to produce work of value and excellence and live up to your faith in me as the “fierce, the fearless and kickass queen of afro-centricity!”

Again, I am most honored and humbled! Thank you! I accept! 

23 thoughts on “I Am The Proud Recipient Of One Of The Grand Nidotopian Afro-Power Awards

    • Thank you Leslie! Here I sit in my own little corner of obscurity and yet, I still get rewarded for my, sometimes, seemingly, futile efforts at breaking through the chaos to actually get seen and not just add to the chaos, but attempt to make sense of why there is chaos, pandemonium and bedlam.

      Leslie, once again, I thank you for your well wishes and for your comment.

      Like

  1. Congrats Shelby! You should have many more awards(I am not talking about those with the “useless questions”). This blog is a very, very, very good read and is MUCH better than the news when you are covering the same event or subject.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Why, thank YOU N.S. Well now, you know, it is because I tell the truth whereas lamestream media puts their own slant on things especially when ‘covering’ stories that deal with police brutality, racism, segregation, the school-to-prison pipeline, mass incarceration, homelessness, poverty, police murdering Black people, income inequality, mass unemployment of Black people and the list goes on and on. But you know that I would never get recognized for the content on this blog if not for those like Nidotopianwarrior! Thankfully, Black people, worldwide are stepping up to the plate and recognizing the achievements of other Black people. This is another form of supporting each other because God knows, no one else is. And if they do, some serious ass strings are attached.

      Even if lamestream media contacted me with an offer, do you honestly think I would take it? Hell no! Because I will never become a sell-out for a few goddamn dollars. I’m no Al Sharpton or Melissa-Harris Perry, who both by the way, have been shunned by their network. Melissa-Harris Perry, outright fired and Al Sharpton relegated to an obscure time slot. If anyone has read anything on this blog, then they know for sure that I’m not a coonhead “Yessum massa sir” piece of shit! Nothing fucking doing! And I don’t give a good goddamn whose feelings get hurt! We’re getting dead and that damn sure trumps some goddamn so-called, ‘feelings’ of racists. They’ll never have me selling out and that’s a fact!

      N.S. thank you for your comment. I sincerely appreciate it.

      Like

    • Well now, you know that I am also the ‘queen of drama’! Nidotopianwarrior, I was at the supermarket today and ‘white’ folks were just a breaking their necks to be helpful, kind and considerate and there I was looking in the face like…uh oh! WTF! I get real suspicious when ‘white’ folks act out of character and are actually straining themselves to bend over backwards to engage me in conversation, smile all over the place up in my face, insist that I get the parking space first. I mean, I was like, do they know that I was just awarded a fantastic prize by Nidotopianwarrior? Hell! The red carpet was still rolled out for me today. Of course since I am here in Menacesnowta; ground zero for one of the recent police murders of Black men, that may have had something to do with why I was treated like a china doll today. Again, ever the suspicious one, I am.

      Thank you again Nidotopianwarrior! I much appreciate being appreciated.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Dr. Bramhall! I appreciate that! It was SO unexpected because usually, folks are trying to piss on me and tell me it’s raining, but for once, someone actually recognized that what I am doing, have been doing, has value and relevance. And I will always appreciate Nidotopianwarrior, who I’ve only known for a short time, be the one to give me my props.

      Thanks again!

      Like

Leave a Reply

