Thank You Once Again, I Accept This Award!

my-second-award

 

 

Thank you! Thank you! Thank you Nidotopianwarrior for once again, recognizing all the hard work that I have put into, not only blogging, but also for getting up off my ass and actually attempting to do something constructive about all the societal ills that I write about. As you know, I have moved to a new city and I am knee deep in attempting to fight back against gentrification, a school-to-prison pipeline, abject poverty, miserable health care services for Black people and the list is endless. It is an uphill battle, but we have no choice but to roll up our sleeves and get to it. I apologize for the delay in posting my acceptance speech, but I was hard at work attempting to be a part of the solution as opposed to being part of the problem.

I want to thank you again, for this award because it comes with no strings attached. I did not have to go to Hollyweird and become gay to win this award. I did not have to don a maid’s uniform and play ‘The Help’; that’s Viola Davis’s job. You go girl, you subservient asshole! I did not have to make myself Forest Whitaker’s kitchen help in ‘The Butler’. Did Forest Whitaker receive an Oscar for his performance of being a ‘butler’? Oh my bad! It doesn’t take an awful lot of effort to open a door to guests or help someone remove their coat and hang it up. Way ta go Whitaker! Nor did I have to bare my bosom like Halle Berry did in ‘Monster’s Ball’ to Billy Bob Thornton and engage in a ‘steamy’ sex scene with a white man in order to win an Oscar. I did not have to be cast in ‘Twelve Years A Slave’ in order to receive this award. Do we seriously need to role play slavery when enough of that, for real, is still going down? I did not have to threaten to boycott Nidotopanwarrior’s blog in order to get recognized for my achievements. The Black entertainers in Hollyweird have to stoop mighty low just to get recognized by the whites that run the show and then when they don’t get the recognition they think they deserve, why, it’s time to boycott. Here’s an idea, host your own awards and open your own studios and tell the white man to kiss your ass, but only from a goddamn distance. Take a page out of Nidotopianwarrior’s book and start your own awards since it is quite obvious that when the NAACP recognizes your achievements, that’s not enough for you. Apparently, only white folks recognizing your achievements, matter. You don’t fucking know that your so-called ‘achievements’ will never be recognized by those pink-assed motherfuckers? How many ways do they have to show you that your ‘talents’ don’t mean shit to them? How many times do you have to play ‘The Help’ or someone’s ‘Butler’ or be cast as a ‘slave’ to get it through that thick ass skull of yours? Many of you coon heads are multi-millionaires and yet you still want the white man to pat you on your weave and your relaxer so that then you’ll know, you’re worthy. Get real! You can’t be worthy to the worthless and believe me, the white man is more worthless than you will ever know! But hey! Go ahead and beg him to recognize your worth. You’re in for a sad awakening, that’s for damn sure!

I do realize that this is one long acceptance speech, but everyone who has ever read anything on this blog know that I am southern and so, therefore, long-winded when I get going. And seeing as how today is my day to relax, I’ve got the time to give a good acceptance speech. Since I was the recipient of one of the first Grand Nidotopianwarrior Afro Power Awards, I had no thought that I would win another one, but I am just as thrilled this time around as I was the first time. And everyone is quite aware of my acceptance speech from winning that first award and if you are not, here is the link. Knock yourself out!

There are many worthy people who are out there in the trenches daily, who are just as deserving, if not more so because I scream and rant and pitch boogey woogies every other day about how I am going to stop doing a goddamn thing  and yet, they never ever think of calling it quits. I on the other hand, call it quits every other day. However, to be fair, it is just me letting off steam. I can no more turn my back on people than I can stop drinking champagne. Not gonna happen. Either one! Thank you liver! You are holding up wonderfully! But as usual, I digress! Nidtopianwarrior is one helluva man. He is an extremely wonderful and talented poet and he should also get started on writing a book because he is multi-talented and all of his readers are aware of this! Nido, take your bow because you are my hero, indeed you are! So folks, head on over to Nidotopianwarrior’s blog and check out the other recipients of this coveted award!

And finally, in closing, I just want to add that I am also honored due to the fact that I share this award with so many fine, outstanding and wonderfully talented fellow bloggers who are indeed, the crème de la crème of the blog world. It is an honor and a privilege to share this award with you.

And Nido, as you say, I am “Sassy, Classy but still ever so bad-ass-y Miss Shelby Courtland, ” and I hope to rev it up a bit! And so I say, AGAIN…Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

Black Bloggers Matter!

BBM!

13 thoughts on “Thank You Once Again, I Accept This Award!

  1. Wow that was quite the speech. Lol I think you would give that Jesse kid a run for his money. And you certainly didn’t pull your punches. Which goes to show once again why you truly deserve this award. 1000 Congratulations to you Shelby and continue to continue to continue to continue to shine because you can shine…….

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

