Remy V. Nicki Minaj: Rap Battle or Self-Destructive Technique?

Why the ‘Black collective’ as a whole would look to the entertainment industry to validate them is a complete and utter mystery to me. I have never once heard one note rapped by either of the two mentioned, nor do I even have an idea of who they are, but if what I read here is evidence of their dubious contributions, then I am the better for having been subjected to none of it!

Whispers of a Womanist

Last weekend, much of the contemporary world became consumed with Bronx rapper Remy Ma’s diss track directed at rapper Nicki Minaj. Remy Ma’s vulgar and non-restrictive bars received abundant praise, many claiming that Martin “killed” Minaj with her verses. Remy’s verses proclaimed her as the Rap Queen and within seven minutes attacked Minaj’s credibility, her “ass” ets, promiscuity, earnings and even her affiliation and support of her brother who acquired sexual- assault charges last year. Many inquired “where to send flowers” referencing Nicki’s lyrical “death” following Remy’s track. However, I write to discount this feud as a smokescreen implemented to distract the black community from the more pertinent issues plaguing our community. Here are three reasons why this “rap battle” aggravates a wounded black collective.
1. Dismissing Fact for Fiction

Remy Ma released her track hours before the fifth Anniversary of Trayvon Martin’s death. This proved disappointing because not only…

View original post 641 more words

12 thoughts on “Remy V. Nicki Minaj: Rap Battle or Self-Destructive Technique?

  1. Hi Shelby – I laugh my ass off at some of these supposed “beefs” between “rappers” no one has ever heard of…I mean has anyone ever heard of Remy Ma outside of her posse and hangers-on?

    No one would hear any of this unless like me the TV happens to be on and tuned to TMZ where Harvey Levin makes a damn good living talking about this shit.
    Just a distraction from the real issues – I mean does anyone care what Remy thinks of Nicki’s ass?

    Regards from Florida.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Toritto, I must admit that I am quite perplexed over this. I mean, why would I care about this when there are so many urgent issues that should take precedence over these trivialities? I can only say that I have heard of Minaj, but I have never even heard of this Remy Ma who I suppose is calling herself that thanks in part to the drink, ‘Remy Martin’ which I detest. My cousin gave me some Remy one night at his club and he was so surprised when I made a face and spit it back in my glass and he proceeded to tell me that Remy was the shit. Of course that was over a decade ago, but needless to say, as usual, I digress.

      TMZ would not exist if people did not want see that mess and so people like you and myself must be few and far between because it is quite obvious that if there were more like us, TMZ would not even be on the air. And so that speaks volumes as to what people actually care about. More’s the pity.

      And I do believe that I have been so unfortunate as to turn my computer on, only to be met with a picture of Nicki Minaj and I quite wondered how much she pays someone to wipe her ass for her as I highly doubt her arms can extend that far to her asshole to actually wipe it clean with toilet paper, much less in the shower, but then I suppose she likes it raw since she could use a scrubbing brush to clean her ass. OUCH!

      Toritto, I thank you most sincerely for your comment.

      Liked by 1 person

      • “And I do believe that I have been so unfortunate as to turn my computer on, only to be met with a picture of Nicki Minaj and I quite wondered how much she pays someone to wipe her ass for her as I highly doubt her arms can extend that far to her asshole to actually wipe it clean with toilet paper, much less in the shower, but then I suppose she likes it raw since she could use a scrubbing brush to clean her ass. OUCH!”

        Shelby somebody needs to put a filter on your mouth, you are just too much hahahaahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha.

        Lawd have mercy, I needed that laugh. Shelby you should consider becoming a comedienne.

        Like

  2. Shelby, I read your Welcome to Baltimore from my email. It didn’t get posted to your web site.
    I’m so sorry about all the things that have happened to you since your move. You’re a brave soul.
    Leslie

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Leslie! It did not post because I had to fix a few typographical errors and I reposted it. Some people would probably consider me to be a fool or even crazy since I have not left Baltimore in some sort of conveyance with all pistons firing. I have no idea if I am either crazy, stupid, a fool or brave for why am I waiting around to get shot in both ass cheeks? A rhetorical question. I have made this mad city, my home and though many would say after reading that post, “How could she stay?”, that’s just what I hope to do, stay put.

      Again, I thank you for your sincere concern and I can only say, “I do not look for trouble, but unfortunately, in Baltimore, trouble is often lurking, right around the corner.” I shall keep you guys posted on my progress here in Hellville!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. The original rap – the kind you heard on street corners in New York in the 70s – was intensely political, ie critical of capitalism and the oppression experienced by minorities. That was before the CIA/Hollywood/entertainment industry took it over and morphed it into a politically castrated genre that portrayed black males as sexist thugs. Heaven forbid that black people (or young people of all backgrounds) should be motivated by rap music to find fault with capitalism.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Well Dr. Bramhall, the only person who comes to my mind who was singing about “Inner City Blues” and “Mercy, Mercy Me, The Ecology Song” and “What’s Going On” which in my opinion, was an attempt to make us more conscience of the Black plight and of that of our home, the earth, was Marvin Gaye. I admit though, that since I am from the South, I was never much subjected to rap music. I am ‘old school classics’ only because my mother played those songs, religiously as did all of my other relatives. I never heard any politically conscience music from rappers. But I would certainly appreciate it if they would turn back the clock and rap about that which you speak of because we could surely use some of that right about now instead of this other filthy ass mess that is only perpetuating thug mentality, chasing after money, bling and sex and drugs. We’ve certainly got enough problems in the Black community over sex and drugs that we don’t need any help with the further promotion of this.

      I sincerely thank you for that spot on comment!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

