SIGH! It’s Just Another Day!

It’s Just Another Day!

I feel the cold wind blow.
They’re calling for more snow.
A homeless person stumbles by.
The sight just makes me cry.

Their life is not so great.
No home. No dinner plate.
Just rags and aching feet.
And those like you they meet.

They’ve no island paradise.
No fruity drink with ice.
No glorious sunset to see.
They can’t afford the fee.

It’s just another day,
of trying to make a way.
No place to lay their head.
No permanent, stable bed.

Will I turn my back on them?
Console them with a hymn?
Shall I point out God is good?
I really don’t think I should.

Who knows if they believe,
or could possibly conceive
of a deity high above,
who shows such lack of love?

I can’t justify my faith
when I see a homeless wraith.
No sermon could I preach.
No belief within my reach.

Tell the homeless about hell.
Don’t you know they live that tale?
With each day that brings defeat.
Because they’re not one of the elite.

Written by,

Shelby I. Courtland

©2013 Shelby I. Courtland

There is a severe weather alert calling for snow from Sunday morning through Tuesday. Not a good time to be homeless, not that ANY time is a ‘good’ time to be homeless. But when the weather gets really, really bad, it is so much worse to be without a home.

The above poem was the first poem I ever wrote for this blog back in February of 2013 and now it is, 2024, and I am still posting poems, marching through the streets to showcase the homeless dead, been homeless my damn self, and still, I sit here, uselessly re-posting this poem to do what? Hell if I know. But at least when you get no blog from me, that means that I am out on the streets helping those I blog about. Expect less and less blogs from me as there are more and more homeless people to help. Would that there were more who are helping, but, alas, I must take what I can get; those few souls like me who give a damn!

7 thoughts on “SIGH! It’s Just Another Day!

      1. Oh no, Leslie!!! My heart goes out to you and your son. I hope and pray that your son will make a full recovery. You have been through SO much already. I am SO very sorry that you and your family are going through it. You are most definitely in my thoughts. Leslie. You and your loved ones. Hugs!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. No, Dr. Bramhall. Activists are arrested for protesting in front of city hall these days and so you can tell by that, that the homeless are not welcome to sleep inside City Hall. I just got back in from out in the snow trying to help two homeless women get into shelter. It’s getting bad out there and so before the buses stop running, I had to do what I could and thankfully, in MY case, hurry home. But at least I found shelter for two homeless souls today. Those of us who give a damn over here are doing what we can, and unfortunately, with the news on all fronts that jobs are being cut left and right, we are looking at a massive homelessness epidemic the likes of which we have never seen.

      Thank you for your comment, Dr. Bramhall.

      Like

Leave a comment